What I am?

I was asked sometime back whether I am a feminist or not. I was thinking about that question and could not come up with any answer. Here I am trying to analyze myself. Let us see what happens.

What exactly I am? I am not a feminist because if I were, I would have allowed my wife to do what she likes and given the freedom to have her own share of wrongs. Now, when I talk about right or wrong, again these are subjective things and are relative things. Some things are right in for someone and wrong for others. Therefore, my wife may be right in doing certain things and acting likely but those acts may seem wrong to me. However, these perceptions may be based on whims and may be nothing more than idiotic idiosyncrasies that I may, unknowingly, possess.

I have talked and written about women rights and have always supported them. However, the behaviour towards my wife may suggest them I am a hypocrite or follow double standards. However, I do not want to think so.

Therefore, what can be the most reasonable answer to the question “What I am?” The answer that will save me from the critical scrutiny of my thoughts and those of people with whom I share my thoughts would be. What I can come up is that I am just a human being who has his own whims and idiosyncrasies. I am trying to reform myself, but that is taking time. Any suggestions that will make me rational towards my approach are welcome.

7 thoughts on “What I am?”

  1. What do u mean by this (“the behaviour towards my wife may suggest them I am a hypocrite or follow double standards”)
    Why do you think so, do u think that I would have made such image of u in my mind???

    Please dont come under such ruthless impressions.. Think positive and be positive..
    we have to go a long way..

  2. Hi…just discovered your blog…good work🙂
    Answering a simple question might help,If your wife were more qualified than you would you be okay with that?Or she earned more than you or got promoted faster than you,then would you be proud of her achievements and support her…or would your male ego come in between and you would be jealous??
    If their arent any insecurities that you feel,then you are a secure real man and a feminist too…
    at least this is the way i see it

    1. Hi Swati,

      Thank you for visiting and appreciating the blog. The answers to your questions:-
      Ques: If your wife were more qualified than you would you be okay with that?
      Ans: I would be more than happy because in that case I would be able to concentrate more on the stuff that I like rather than on playing the role of a bread-earner. Jokes apart, as of now, I don’t think that it should be of any problem.

      Ques: Or she earned more than you or got promoted faster than you,then would you be proud of her achievements and support her…or would your male ego come in between and you would be jealous?
      Ans: No. My wife and I are in different jobs and industries and so there should be no problem with that as well. Even if she would have been in the same job as I am then it would not make a difference.

  3. You are one of the very few secure men around then…the world would be a much better place if more men thought like you.Please spread your influence far and wide,at least in India which could gladly do with more of your kind 🙂

Leave a Reply

